Leather Razor Case

My brother is a navy pilot, I’m so proud of him. Over Christmas he asked if I could make a razor case with maybe a personalized monogram on it. He didn’t have a specific monogram in mind, and when I asked him again later he texted me this image saying “if you find something that looks good that’s fine with me. Or there’s always this.”

2015/01/img_1710.jpg
It’s his Navy Wings of Gold. And that’s what I went with, way more interesting than a monogram if you ask me. And much more to be proud of.

2015/01/img_1728.jpg

2015/01/img_1726.jpg
Here’s a progress shot of the wings before the stain was applied. I had to simplify the design a little to carve it, it’s only about 1 1/2″ across, so tiny.

2015/01/img_1735.jpg
I had a few challenges with this project. After taking some measurements at Christmas and planning the design, I didn’t actually have the razor in my possession to check the fit. Also, stitching it was pretty tricky because there was not much room to work, I had to stitch it really loosely and pull it all together at the end.

2015/01/img_1736.jpg
And here’s a picture he sent me in its new home, he says it’s a great fit.

2015/01/img_1739.jpg

Leave a Reply

